Club History

Islandeady GAA club was established in 1904.The jerseys worn at the time

were black with a yellow stripe. The club didn’t own a pitch at the time so

games were played in various fields around the parish through the early

years such as Sonny Rice’s and Paddy Fitzgeralds (Cloggernagh) , Maura

Clarkes (Fairhill) and in Moing near the Three Bridges.

It was in 1928 that Green and White were registered as the club colours. In

general, during the 1930s and 40’s the local organisation of the Gaa was

very loose and Gaa activity suffered due to the war, lack of transport and


In May 1950 the club got going again and has been in existence ever since.

Some of the players at the time included Henry, Richie, Peter and Brendan

Needham (Lismolin), Dickie Conaboy (Cashel) Pat and Tom Conway (Cashel)

Mike, John, Frank, Jimmy and Paddy Bourke (Derrycoosh) Tommy O’ Malley

(Cloggernagh) Mick Quinn (Derrycoosh), Henry Kenny (Derrycoosh) and of

course the most famous Islandeady footballer, Peter Solan, the only

Islandeady man to ever win a senior All Ireland medal with Mayo.

· West Mayo titles were won in 1951,53 and again in 1959

The 60’s didn’t produce any titles but in 1960 Islandeady had three players

on the West Mayo team (an amalgamated team from Junior clubs) which won the

County Senior championship.They were Richie and Brendan Needham and Pat

Geraghty (Glenisland).The club also purchased it own pitch in 1965 with

funds raised from holding horse races which were held on and off between

1939 and 65.

In the early 70’s the club was on the verge of collapse due to lack of

success and many years in the doldrums. At the AGM at the end of 1973 many

young players expressed a desire to leave the club but it was decided to

make one last effort. The longest standing member of the club, Sean

Moylette, sponsored a parish league which got underway the following March.

Jackie Deffelys team emerged victorious and this league acted as a

springboard for the clubs most successful era.

Islandeady won the 1974 West Mayo championship defeating Westport in the

final on a scoreline of 1-5 to 1-2 and captained by John Fitzgerald, went

on to capture the County Junior championship beating Bohola 2-3 to 1-2 in

the final.

The following year Islandeady were playing at the Intermediate grade for

the first time in the history of the club. Not content with just

participating at a higher level Islandeady went on to win out the

championship by defeating Balla in the semi final and Ballinrobe in the

final in Castlebar captained by Peter Collins.

The club was now in the Senior football grade all in the space of two

years,a remarkable achievement. Though matching some of the best teams in

the County and reaching the County league final and Senior championship

semi final the major trophies eluded them. Some of the players at the time

were the McCormacks, the Kennys, the Collins, the Sweeneys, the Gibbons’and

the Moylettes.

In the early 1980s Islandeady returned to the Junior ranks but in 1985 won

another West Mayo and County Junior title and added another couple of West

Mayo titles in 1988 and 1990.In the late 80s and early 90s the club

redeveloped its grounds. A major fund raising drive took place and the

pitch underwent a complete makeover. The infamous dip was removed and a

superb new pitch was laid. In a brilliant show of unity and teamwork a

group of 54 members voluntarily built a six foot high 200 yard long wall

along the exterior of the grounds in just 10 hours on July 18th 1992. Over

the next few years facility upgrades continued and on Sunday 11th May 1997

the official opening of the new improvements took place with the Mayo

senior team playing Armagh in a senior football challenge.

On the pitch the Junior team struggled but the club set in motion a plan to

develop the underage section of the club so that they may reap the benefits

in later years. The under 14 team took part in the All Ireland feile

competition in 1996 reaching the semi finals.

In the early 00’s the work at underage began to pay off. Islandeady teams

began winning underage leagues and the under 21 team won the County ‘C’

title in 2002 and followed that up in 2003 by reaching the ‘B’ final before

losing to Crossmolina. Islandeady players also became more prominent on

colleges teams. In 2007 the Junior team were beaten in the County Junior

final by Achill but gained promotion to Div 1b of the league for the first

time since the late 70s following a dramatic playoff victory over Kiltimagh

in Castlebar.

In 2007 the club launched its new crest. The local national schools

participated in a competition to design the crest and Kyle Moran from

Cornanool emerged the winner.

2010 seen the under 21s win the County ‘C’ title again while the minor team

exceeded all expectation when they deservedly won the West Mayo ‘B’ title

and reached the county decider. The Junior team once again fell at the

final hurdle losing to Parke in the County final but continue to play in

the Div 1b of the senior league.

In 2011 Islandeady finally captured the County Junior title defeating Ardnaree in the final at a rain soaked McHale Park  on a 1-10 to 0-9 scoreline.They also maintained their Div 1b league status.The Under 14s won the Div 4 League title and the Minors took part in the ‘A’ championship for the first time in decades.http://Club History

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: